Author Topic: Gelatin in Medication?  (Read 21411 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Cbw678

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Points: +0/-0
  • Gender: Female
Gelatin in Medication?
« on: November 10, 2008, 04:29:01 PM »
Salamu alaykum wa rahmatullah!

Most of the topics in this particular forum are in Arabic (which I'm not fluent in), so forgive me if this has already been discussed.

A large problem with living in predominantly non-muslim countries is access to 'halaal medicines'. Most folks don't realise this but gelatin, derived from pig fat, is a common ingredient in most pills.

Is it permissible to use an otherwise haram method for medical purposes? Or is the 'forbidden' forbidden regardless of the situation.

Also, please cite any sources you may have!




Offline PrincessMuni

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 595
  • Points: +0/-0
  • Gender: Female
Re: Gelatin in Medication?
« Reply #1 on: November 10, 2008, 07:15:22 PM »
interesting topic!! well, will read and try to find some answers!
thanks for sharing tho
Intelligence plus character- that is the goal of true education

Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.

Offline Mysam

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
  • Points: +0/-0
  • Gender: Female
Re: Gelatin in Medication?
« Reply #2 on: December 22, 2008, 08:03:57 AM »
Asalaam aleykum

I have been reading on this too. Conclusion I have reached: If the source of the gelatin is known - bovine, fish(yes, they have started using it in conform with Halal & Kosher needs) its Halal. Otherwise its Haram.

Quoting from an article from Sunnipath http://qa.sunnipath.com/issue_view.asp?HD=1&ID=67&CATE=90
Quote
Islamic Law Regarding Gelatine

If the source of Gelatine is derived from a Halaal source then its usage is permissible, whilst if the source is Haraam or Mashqook [doubtful] then it will be considered Haraam. The hide matrix or gelatine protein is basically a piece of skin, which is hydrollised, washed, melted and extracted, purified, evaporated, sterilised, chilled, dried and granulated for further shelf life and easy use. Alkaline treatment tends to remove amide groups present on certain amino acid residues on the collagen protein chains resulting in a lowering of the isoelectric point and consequently an alteration not a transformation of the chemical and physical properties of the protein occurs. Despite the above method of changing a raw product into gelatine under tremendous chemical pressure still retains much of its chemical equation. The collagen triple helix structure is lost during this procedure but the resultant Gelatine product retains the original coil structure. The aspect of Tabdeel-e-Mahiyyat does not take place.

Muslims should avoid choosing Haraam and doubtful ingredients. If a comparable medication is available in tablet or liquid form it would be advisable to ask for them instead of taking capsules. In the area of food we have such a vast selection of products whereby foregoing a certain brand containing Gelatine should pose no problem. In the UK it is a legal requirement to list ingredients in products and a reference to this guide will indicate what can be consumed or not. Muslim countries as well as local associations should provide finances to initiate and promote research to develop alternate forms to Gelatine to overcome this problem.   

For curiosity ... came across this  article  calling on Halal gelatin production by Muslims and the few options they have started to produce.
 http://www.halaljournal.com/index.php?page=article&act=show&category=0&pid=1264&PHPSESSID=bc7f8489b95

fiamanillah
Mysam
 

Offline Abrillgreen

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Points: +0/-0
  • Gender: Female
Re: Gelatin in Medication?
« Reply #3 on: July 08, 2010, 08:32:05 AM »
In thrombotic disorders, clots can anatomy aural the veins in the leg which can breach off, biking through the blood, and get ashore in the lung's circulation. They can additionally action in added genitalia of the circulatory system, such as the aperture attitude activity into the alarmist or the coronary arteries of the heart.Patients with adoration prohibitions adjoin burning of pork and/or beef articles ability stop their medications back assigned those with pork- and beef-derived gelatin and/or stearic acid. Prescribers should altercate this achievability with their patients, conceivably as allotment of abreast consent

Offline Ivarr

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Points: +0/-0
  • Gender: Male
Re: Gelatin in Medication?
« Reply #4 on: September 06, 2011, 05:11:04 PM »
Gelatin is usually made of pig and pig meat is restricted in islam.
It is also used in many body building supplements and energy foods.
So avoid these kind of foods.


 

patient medication history

Started by AbdicadeBoard Pre-Pharmacy and Pharmacy

Replies: 4
Views: 24373
Last post March 08, 2012, 09:24:59 AM
by Abdicade
Take Your TB Medication Or You Will be Jailed!!

Started by DiagnosticBoard Health News and Events

Replies: 0
Views: 2686
Last post December 07, 2007, 07:09:39 PM
by Diagnostic