Medical Student Forums > Basic Medical Science

Skeleton of the Body

(1/2) > >>

                                           Skeleton of the  Body

The skeleton is formed by:-

           A-Bones                                                        B-Cartilages

and it’s divided in to two parts:-
1-Axail Skeleton                                       2-Peripheral skeleton
                                  The Axial Skeleton:-

      -Lies along the longitudinal Axis of the body, it’s formed of by:-
1-Vertebrae          2-Skull          3-Ribs         and 4-Sternum

                                 The peripheral Skeleton:-
         -It consists of:-

1-Pectoral (Shoulder) girdle   2-Pelvic girdle   3-Upper limb   4-Lower Limb

        1-Pectoral (Shoulder) girdle:-
it connects the free Upper limbs to the axial skeleton and it consists of posterior element which called the scapula and anterior element which called the clavicle.
        2-Pelvic girdle:-
it connects the free lower limbs to the axial skeleton  and consists of three Bones:-

 A-Pubic      B-Ischium      C- Ilium, they Unit to form the hip bone

        3-Bones of the Upper limb:-  
each side consists of:-
1-Humerus: in the Arm                                               2-Radius and Ulna: in the Forearm
3-Carpal: in the Wrist                                                4-Metacarpal and phalanges: in the hand
       4-Bones of the Lower Limb:-    
each side consists of:-

1-Femur: in the Thigh                                                2-Pattela, Tibia and Fibula: in the Leg
3-Tarsal, Metatarsal and Phalanges: in the Foot.

# both Girdle articulate with the distal freely moveable parts of limb by Ball & Socket Joints.

# the first segment each limb containing a single element Humerus for upper limb, and Femur for lower limbs.

# The Second segment of each limb containing two elements Radius & Ulna for the upper limb, Tibia & Fibula for lower limbs.
                                                Classification of Bones.

Bones classified according to their shape in to (4) types:
                                               1-long bone:-
 vary in length from finger to thigh but tend to have enlarged upper & lower ends which called (Epiphysis) and shaft which called (Diaphysis).                  
                                               2-Short bone:-
         -Wrist and Foot                                                                                        
                                               3-Flat bone:-
         -Sternum and vault of the Skull  
                                               4-Irregular bone:-
         -vertebral column.

                                           Function of the Bones

    It has Five basic functions:-
1-Shape and Support :- it gives shape and support to the body

2-Attachment of muscles :- provides point of attachment of Muscles (Movement)
3-Protection: - it protects the internal organs from the injury and traumas.

4-Storage: - bone store several minerals that can be distributed to many parts of the body.

5-Production :- bone product Blood cells.

                              Mahadsanidiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiin Dhamaaaaaaaan.

By:-  Abdulmunim Ahmed Mohamed (Munim)  

thanks for the topic bro

Thanks doc

Sidiiq Sharaf Sheikh:
Thanks somdoc masha allah   cajiib weeye webkaan

the topic is very useful to the i year students who were admitted in the mbbs course in India.thanks to the author


[0] Message Index

[#] Next page

Go to full version