Author Topic: Do WE HAVE SOMALI OCCUPATIONAL THERAPISTS  (Read 19907 times)

Offline Sarah

Do WE HAVE SOMALI OCCUPATIONAL THERAPISTS
« on: October 16, 2007, 09:29:29 PM »
Hi every one, It seems just about every one in this forum is studying either Medicine or Nursing. I am studying
occupational therapy in postgraduate. In all my placement i have never came across a somalian occupational therapist, i was just wondering whether  i get hold at least one OT. I feel i am quite alone. :'(

Offline Admin

• Administrator
  • Towards a better peaceful and healthy life!
    • Somali Medical Association
Re: Do WE HAVE SOMALI OCCUPATIONAL THERAPISTS
« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2007, 09:54:44 AM »
It's very beautiful choosing such speciality which is more humanitarian rather than medical, to be an OT person means helping people achieve a fulfilled and satisfied state in life through the use of "purposeful activity or interventions designed to achieve functional outcomes which promote health, prevent injury or disability and which develop, improve, sustain or restore the highest possible level of independence.

For those who don't know The Occupational therapy refers to the use of meaningful occupation to assist people who have difficulty in achieving healthy and balanced life; and to enable an inclusive society so that all people can participate to their potential in daily occupations of life.

Sorry being alone in this field, it's a rare profession among Somalis to be enrolled in, and hope in the near future you will come across your career mates. & by the way which are of occupational therapy you are interested in?

Regards
Dr.Mahdi
"you never cure a patient, you treat pain often but you always comfort the patient."
www.somalidoc.com

Offline Fay

Re: Do WE HAVE SOMALI OCCUPATIONAL THERAPISTS
« Reply #2 on: March 06, 2010, 11:57:00 PM »